You have permission to edit this article.

Surging to end: Cowboys looking for third straight win to end the season

  • Updated
  • Comments

Alan Bratton, coach of the Cowboy Golf Team, looks on at Hole 18 at Day 1 of the Cowgirl Classic at Karsten Creek on October 22, 2020 in Stillwater, Oklahoma.

Oklahoma State men’s golf has been on a silent climb to the top of the golf world once again in their 2020-21 campaign.

At the beginning of the season, despite being ranked in the top 10 overall, the Cowboys were the fourth ranked Big 12 in the January edition of the Golf Channel Power Rankings. Now as the season is beginning to wrap up the Cowboys sit at No. 3 in the April 13 rankings and behind only Oklahoma in the Big 12.

The Cowboys head into their final regular season tournament looking for their third straight team title. The Cowboys will take part in the Thunderbird Collegiate April 16-17 in Phoenix. The event wasn’t held in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, but the Cowboys finished fourth in the 2019 event.

The event will be 54 holes with 36 on Friday and 18 on Saturday. The Cowboys have won the tournament four times in its 48 years of history.

As the Cowboys go for their third straight win 15 other teams will stand in their way. The field includes Big 12 foes Texas Tech, Baylor, Iowa State, Baylor and others including ranked teams.

Behind the success is coach Alan Bratton in the midst of his eighth season, he has now led the Cowboys to 34 team titles. Bratton has become widely recognized as one of the nation’s top coaches.

He has been named Big 12 Coach of the Year (2019), Dave Williams National Coach of the Year (2018) and Central Regions Coach of the Year (2014). He also received the Big 12 Women’s Coach of the Year in 2013.

“It’s great being coached by coach Bratton and coach (Donnie) Darr,” Eugenio Chacarra said. “We learn new things every day, they make us better every day. I think having them as coaches has helped take us to the next level.”

The Cowboys have used depth to their strength this season. Only two spots are fully sealed belonging to Austin Eckroat and Chacarra. The other three spots are up for grabs.

“We have a deep team, a lot of talent top to bottom,” Bratton said.

In the Thunderbird Collegiate the Cowboys will use the starting five of Eckroat, Chacarra, Aman Gupta, Bo Jin and Jonas Baumgartner. Three other Cowboys will compete as individuals in the event, those being Rasmus Neergaard-Petersen, Hazen Newman and Brian Stark.

“We’ve got a lot of good players this year,” Eckroat said. “We’ve got 10 guys who could possibly play in the top five. We’ve got a good team somewhere among the five, we just have to find out where.”