You have permission to edit this article.


Scouting Ole Miss for NCAA Championship match

  • Updated
  • Comments

Isabella Fierro walks down the fairway with a smile at Day 1 of the Cowgirl Classic at Karsten Creek on October 22, 2020 in Stillwater, Oklahoma.

Ole Miss is in the midst of an historic season for its women’s golf programーmuch like Oklahoma State.

However, those two teams will face off with one another for the National Championship meaning one historic season will end short of more history.

What does Ole Miss bring to the match against Oklahoma State?

Ole Miss, who entered the NCAA Championships ranked No. 5, earned the No. 4-seed in match play after four stroke play rounds, which set up a quarterfinal match with No. 5-seeded Texas. Ole Miss mounted a late comeback sealing the win in two extra hole matches, one in 21 holes and one in 22 holes. That match didn’t end until after OSU’s semifinal match had already begun.

Ole Miss then faced 8-seeded Arizona in the semifinal match. Ole Miss fended off the Wildcats, who were fresh off an upset of top-seeded Stanford. Arizona fought as hard as they could, but ultimately Ole Miss was able to outpower the Wildcats to advance to the match with the Cowgirls.

Ole Miss won six of their 10 matches in Tuesday’s rounds. Ole Miss has lost just one match play duel this season. Winning both matches at the East Lake Cup and both matches in the NCAA Tournament. Ole Miss fell to Mississippi State in the SEC Championship match play portion.

Ole Miss won one tournament, plus winning the East Lake Cup, a match play event. This season, but finished lower than fifth just once this season.

The Cowgirls and Ole Miss share just one common tournament this season both playing in the Heroes Lady Intercollegiate. The Cowgirls won the event, and Ole Miss finished second.

Both teams are looking for their first NCAA women’s golf title in their first match play appearances.

The teams tee off at 1:35 p.m. Pacific Time, 3:35 p.m. Central Standard Time. The lineup for the matches follows, OSU is listed first followed by Ole Miss:

1:35/3:35: Maja Stark (2-0) vs Kennedy Swann (2-0)

1:45/3:45: Isabella Fierro (2-0) vs Andrea Linnell (2-0)

1:55/ 3:55: Lianna Bailey (2-0) vs Chiara Tamburlini (0-2)

2:05/4:05: Rina Tatematsu(2-0) vs Julia Johnson (1-1)

2:15/4:15: Maddison Hinson-Tolchard(1-1) vs Smilla Sonderby (1-1)