Magnani, Smith, Abdi earn Big 12 accolades

OSU Cross-Country

Several members of the OSU cross-country team earned awards Tuesday.

Oklahoma State dominated the Big 12 cross-country season.

The conference’s annual honors capped off the 2016 cross-country season.

Michelle Magnani, Dave Smith and Hassan Abdi took home awards Tuesday.

Magnani earned the Big 12 Women’s Newcomer of the Year. The freshman out of Moorpark, California, was the best freshman at the Big 12 Championships with the seventh-best time overall. She also was runner-up at the Cowboy Jamboree. At the NCAA Championships, Magnani took 188th place.

Coach Dave Smith won Men’s Coach of the Year. The Cowboys won their ninth consecutive Big 12 title and took 12th at the NCAA Championships. Smith has led the men’s cross-country team since 2006. In that time, the Cowboys have won three national championships, 10 Midwest Regional championships and nine Big 12 titles.

Hassan Abdi won the Men’s Runner of they Year. It was Abdi’s first season as a Cowboy after two years at South Plains, an NJCAA college. Abdi was one of the Cowboys’ two All-Americans. His 16th-place finish at the NCAA Championships earned him the honor. He also finished third in the Big 12 Championships.