You have permission to edit this article.

Cunningham wins Wayman Tisdale Award

  • Updated
  • Comments
Oregon State v Oklahoma State

INDIANAPOLIS, IN - MARCH 21: in the second round of the 2021 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament held at Hinkle Fieldhouse on March 21, 2021 in Indianapolis, Indiana. (Photo by C. Morgan Engel/NCAA Photos via Getty Images)

Cade Cunningham adds another trophy to his cabinet.

On Tuesday, the Oklahoma State Cowboy point guard was awarded the 2021 Wayman Tisdale Award, given annually to the nation’s best freshman in college basketball.

“I’m honored,” Cunningham said. “This is a testament to all the great coaches and teammates that I’ve been fortunate enough to play with over my career to this point.”

Cunningham beat out USC’s Evan Mobley, Gonzaga’s Jalen Suggs and Michigan’s Hunter Dickinson for the award. After leading the Big 12 in scoring at 20.1 points per game, this is another trophy to his quickly growing collection.

Cunningham also won the Big 12 Player of the Year award and was named Big 12 Player and Newcomer of the Week nine times during the season, a school record.

He was also named a First Team All-American by the Associated Press, the National Association of Basketball Coaches, USA Today, the Sporting News and the United States Basketball Writers Association.

Cunningham joined Marcus Smart as the only OSU players to win the Tisdale Award, which is voted on by the USBWA. The award was first given in 1989, when LSU’s Chris Jackson was the recipient.

Cunningham has the opportunity to win more hardware. He is a finalist for the 2021 Naismith Trophy, the John R. Wooden Award and the Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award.

“To be mentioned alongside the greats that have won this award, as well as Mr. Tisdale himself, is truly humbling,” Cunningham said.