top story

OSU wins Cowboy Jamboree

Cross country

After a two and a half hour weather delay, the 76th Cowboy Jamboree finally began and the host team dominated once again.

The Oklahoma State men’s and women’s cross country teams won their fourth-straight team title Saturday at the OSU Cross Country Course.

The No. 1 Cowboys proved they are the best team in the nation, recording a score of 29 points and defeating runner-up No. 2 Northern Arizona by 28 points. Kirubel Erassa led the team, finishing the 8,000-meter race in 24:28.16.

“We were running against a very good team,” coach Dave Smith said. “I’m always anxious to run against a team like that. You want to win, especially on your home course, so I think we were ready to run hard.”

As a team, the Cowboys took four of the top 10 spots. Defending individual champion Shadrack Kipchirchir (24:28.55) finished in third-place, Tom Farrell (24:36.42) finished in sixth-place and Joseph Manilafasha (24:47.67) finished in seventh-place. Brian Gohlke (25:02.78) rounded out the scoring-five, placing 11th overall.

The No. 22 Cowgirls posted a score of 51 team points, beating second-place Kentucky by 18 points.

For the second year in a row, junior runner Monika Juodeskaite (17:30.73) led the women’s team. The Cowgirl took place second in the 5,000-meter race, improving on her third-place finish from last year.

“We told Monika to go for it,” Smith said. “They did a great job. I could go down the list individually, but I was proud of the way they ran.”

The Cowgirls placed five runners in the top 15. Kate Kujawa (18:14.49) finished in in ninth-place, Natalie Baker (18:23.99) finished in 11th-place, Kristine Helle (18:25.99) finished in 14th-place and Anna Boyert (18:26.98) finished in 15th-place.

“We have a lot to work on, but a good day overall,” Smith said.

Overall, the Cowboys have won the Jamboree 19 times, with 13 titles under the established race format, dating to 1957. The Cowgirls have nine Jamboree titles since the women began competing in 1977.

Both teams will return to competition on Oct. 19 when they travel to Terre Haute, Ind., to run in the Pre National Invitational.