You have permission to edit this article.

Cowgirls win sixth Big 12 title in program history

  • Updated

The Big 12 title is coming to Stillwater, Oklahoma, for the sixth time in program history.

The No. 3 Oklahoma State equestrian team defeated No. 7 Baylor 13-7 on Saturday to clinch the title at Turning Point Ranch in Springtown, Texas.

The teams were tied at five after the first half before OSU outscored Baylor 8-2 to finish the meet.

OSU won equitation over fences 4-1, with Abigail Brayman receiving the high score of 177. She received MOP honors of the tournament for both equitation over fences and equitation on the flat.

The Cowgirls continued their excellence in reining, winning the event 4-1. Julia Purus received the high score with a 149. Danielle Cohen, Ebba Lange and Hannah Mitchell also received pointss. Cohen was the MOP in reining for the tournament.

Harley Huff continued her dominant freshman season, receiving MOP in the tournament for horsemanship. OSU won the event 3-2 against Baylor.

Coach Larry Sanchez was named the Big 12 Coach of the Year, his third time to receive the honor. Carly Barrick and Huff were both named Big 12 Rider of the Year for their respective events. Lange and Mitchell were both named to the All-Big 12 team for reining.

OSU will be in action again April 18-21 when it heads to Waco, Texas, for the NCEA Championships.