You have permission to edit this article.

Interim president, dean announced at OSU Center for Health Sciences

  • Updated
  • Comments
Dr. Johnny Stephens

Dr. Johnny Stephens is the new interim president of OSU Health Sciences.

Dr. Johnny Stephens will serve as interim president of Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences effective July 1, announced OSU President Burns Hargis.

Hargis said Stephens has been a valued member of the OSU-Center for Health Sciences team for seven years.

On the same day, Dr. Dennis Blakenship will become interim dean of the OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine. He has previously served as the College’s chair of emergency medicine and OSU Medical Center’s chief of staff.

“I am extremely proud of the progress and accomplishments of CHS under the leadership of Kasey Shrum and her entire team,” Hargis said. “The academic health care center has been stabilized and will soon grow to include a veterans’ hospital and mental health hospital, which will expand the care for veterans and our most vulnerable populations while increasing the number of resident physicians in Oklahoma.”

Dr. Kasey Shrum, the current president of OSU-CHS and dean of the OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine, will replace Hargis as OSU president on July 1.